Taking it personal

Women are repeatedly accused of taking things personally. I cannot see any other honest way of taking them.
Marya Mannes

Personal: : relating to an individual or an individual’s character, conduct, motives, or private affairs often in an offensive manner

Have you heard : Do not take things personally, nothing others do is because of you.

I have heard this and I understand the concept and yet I find that I do take things personally. If it is about me how can I not – Now don’t take me wrong not everything around me is taken personally.

Disagree with me in conversation…you may have a perspective I havent seen yet.

 Have a different opinion…. we all have had different upbringings, values, and self-rules.

Like what you like…..but what you like doesn’t make what I like wrong.

Do what you do how you do it……..you have learned your way and I have learned mine.

 Its non of my business what you do…..if you would like to share, well by all means share.

 How can we not take personal affronts personal? When someone makes a comment against us, when it seems to jab at who we are as a person, about how we do what we do when we do it, or about why we did it.

 Maybe it is like the old saying : mind your own business.  I try to think of it as: Its non of my business what you say about me….but for that brief second when it happens I take it personally….and if I am careful I wont walk in that…but at times it happens. When this happens it takes me a bit and I sit quietly and remind myself : WHAT OTHER PEOPLE SAY ABOUT ME IS NONE OF MY BUSINESS – THEY CAN THINK WHAT THEY WANT! WHAT THEY SAY IS NOT REALLY WHO I AM IT IS JUST A REFLECTION OF WHAT THEY SEE…then ponder what they are showing me.

Then I move on being who I am…listening within to tell me if what I am doing  is to be changed…because really I am the best knower of myself, I know what works and what doesn’t….when I listen. ;0)

Leave a Reply

