SHINE

I know that they loved me…

I know that they cared…

they asked me questions, when my head was  in the air.

I wanted to answer

to bad that fear came along

and hid me when I wanted to speak

I really wanted to let me be in the sun.

I wanted to shine so bad back then

then one day I just woke up

and decided it was time to do the work

to walk in who I am

I treaded seas of disbelief

and mountains of despair

but I made it through the valley of fear

to where I am RIGHT HERE…

So it’s NOW that I am living

not past or future if’s

I walk in my truth within

each day I just move on

and leave those fears and doubts behind

today you see I SHINE!!!

By: Starla Smith

Leave a Reply

