The twist of Bait!

So my husband he is a fishing guy…loves to fish!!!:P Drives me crazy and yet I love to eat the fish he makes after the fishing day!!! Those little lures he uses. They twist around and around in the water saying ” Here fishy fishy!!!” But it is just BAIT

While there are many definitions for bait here is the one I want to talk about …

Bait: to worry, torment, or persecute, esp. with malicious remarks

I was looking at a verse in Job 19

Job 19:2 “How long will you torment my soul, And break me in pieces with words?

Job is talking  to his friends. They came to help him. They ended up tormenting him with their words. It was as if they just turned against him.

This word TORMENT is from the word torquere which means to twist and is synonymous with the word BAIT according to my handy dandy Websters New World College Dictionary. In the KJV this torment word is VEX – to afflict or grieve, to be pained in mind.

There are times when this seems to happen. We are going through things in life and there really is nothing anyone can say to us. Sometimes the best people can do around us is guess, assume, presume, suppose and so on.

In some situations at times we may feel tormented by people words. They do not seem to understand where we are coming from and there seems to be no help for finding the common ground.

Ever felt like that –Where you feel as though you are driving yourself crazy to find a solution ???

Another synonym of torment:  to concentrate with painful effort: to rack one’s brains.

Sometimes all you can do is to do what Job did in this chapter….Job says that God is putting Him through this (he knows everything happens for a reason) and he chooses to believe …here is what he says:

Job 19: 25-27 For I know [that] my Redeemer lives, And He shall stand at last on the earth;

And after my skin is destroyed, this [I know], That in my flesh I shall see God,

Whom I shall see for myself, And my eyes shall behold, and not another. [How] my heart yearns within me!

No matter how tormented we are in our souls…CHRIST LIVES!! God has a plan…rest in the knowing that YOUR REDEEMER LIVES and you shall see Him for yourself!!

Ps: the second part of that verse (And break me in pieces with words? ) The word break means to cause to come apart by force, to disrupt the order and completeness of….

Watchout !!! Sometimes others words disrupt our minds and cause us to fall apart….becareful what and who you listen to!!! Oh and dont do that to yourself either…kicking yourself around doesnt help…submit to the learning..and find the lesson!

3 thoughts on “The twist of Bait!

  1. that is so dead on! I’m being carefully who I listen to…and how I receive what I’m hearing. Sometimes I take someone’s words and replay them too many times, making them seem more offensive than what they really were. I end up breaking myself down! Or if I haven’t truly forgiven someone, every word they speak is tormenting me! Thank God I have released people and have learned to forgive!

  2. It seems as though you were right in my head, having just gone through something that I tormented myself over, before I took the time to do the learning and reasoning needed to get me through it. With your help of course ;0) This blog is right on! It is so nice to know that its not just me. Not to mention, nice to know there is a way to over come the emotions and do what cha gotta do.

  3. Pingback: BLOWING WIND « Stars Rain

Leave a Reply

