Do you buy it…??!!

Growth begins in the mind, but your heart has to buy it for you to live it.

I read this statement today and thought…WOW, isn’t that the truth!!!

We may know lots of things….

We may believe that they are good things…

We may think that they are noble, good, true and healthy…

but if our hearts do not buy it, if deep within we do not truly understand inside, we will not do those things….and we may even tell ourselves that we do when we do not!!!

OUT OF THE HEART THE MOUTH SPEAKS!

We may believe that it is right to be kindly to people, we may believe that manners are good. BUT if in our hearts we are selfish we will not be kind nor mannerly, we will treat people badly…speak coarsely…and boss instead of ask. If we do not break it down we will not see it. We must question ourselves and answer honestly.

For example:

Are you irritated right now? Yes.

Why are you irritated? People aren’t listening to me!

Why aren’t they listening to you? Because I didn’t ask, I told then and I am bossing them around.

Why do you boss them? I want them to do what I need.

What do you need? Help with the housework.

So why don’t you ask them? Because I am afraid they will say no.

What if they do say no? Then I will have to do it myself.

In a few handful of questions we have come to a root issue. SELFISHNESS. Now we can deal with it. Repent and pray, then decide what to do about it.

ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS!

We can say all day we are going to use manners and be kind but if we do not work it out we will not do it. We can tell our loved ones we are sorry a hundred times for being so bossy and not asking.

Untill we just start doing it we are just blowing wind….

Proverbs 23:23 Buy the truth and  sell it not, Get wisdom, discipline, and understanding.

6 thoughts on “Do you buy it…??!!

  1. I just read in Lysa TerKeurst’s book “Becoming More Than A Good Bible Study Girl” these words, “I used to say I didn’t feel close to God, and therefore, God must not be close to me. Now, I say: God is close, and if I choose to be close back, He’ll rearrange my feelings. In other words, I need to make an intentional choice with my head, knowing that my heart will eventually follow.”

    Good stuff…from both Lysa and you. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Yep…..loving the statement in blue. Another one I need to print out….

    And like Rachel, I, too, have read Lysa’s book….good stuff in there!

    The refining process is so fun. 🙂 Right, Starla?

  3. Intention of mind and acceptance in heart…..God knows what we need and I am so glad there is knowledge out there that we can get in our language (the way we learn) so that we GET IT!! :0) thanks for stopping by

  4. Yes Shelly I love sandpaper in the morning for my rough edges and the chisel in the evening to get all the gunk off before the next day…:0)

Leave a Reply

